LIFE IS ABOUT FOLLOWING YOUR BLISS

I just returned from the most memorable and amazing trip with my dad and step-mom to Machu Picchu and to the Amazon. It was certainly a journey that we will never forget, especially since it has always been a dream of my father to visit both of these places in his lifetime. Now 76 years later, his dream became a reality. Seeing the pure joy on his face taking in the famous vista of Machu Picchu for the very first time in the rays of the rising sun is a memory that I will never forget. 

Ask anyone, my dad and I have never been ones to shy away from a challenge. We both have now traveled together on safaris to the remote corners of Africa, to the ruggedness of the Australian Outback, to sea-kayaking in New Zealand and most recently to the depths of the Amazon jungle. I really have to say that I greatly admire and love my dad for his adventurous soul, indomitable spirit and zest for life. It's pretty obvious knowing now where I get it!

As my dad's health and age makes it more difficult for him to do exotic and adventure travel, this most recent trip exemplified some of the best qualities in my dad. Over the years of our travels around the globe, I've gained some very valuable life's lessons from him. Here are the ones that I will always cherish:

MAKE NO EXCUSES - Even at his age and with health issues becoming more of a concern, my dad never let those factors intimidate him from hiking at 9,000 ft. in the cold, thin air of the Andes mountains or trekking in knee-deep mud in the stifling heat of the Amazon jungle. I feel those same determined qualities allowed him never to make excuses in his life. Growing up in near poverty in India, having both parents die by the time he was eleven and being raised by his older siblings were never perceived set-backs for his ultimate success, joy and happiness in life.

HAVE NO REGRETS - Studies have shown that the biggest regret people have as they approach the end of their life was living a life to meet other people's expectations. One thing that traveling with my dad has taught me is never make regrets for taking the necessary chances for following your dreams. After having become a widower in his 50s my dad took the chance not to let our mom's death be a reason to vanquish his dreams of life-long joy and happiness. He eventually met another wonderful woman, who is now his life-partner, and has recently become the proud grandfather to twins this year. Even after a devastating personal tragedy, my dad continues to focus on a life free of regrets and limitations. 

NEVER GIVE UP ON YOUR DREAMS - While it has always been my father's dream to visit Machu Picchu and the Amazon, the larger lesson my dad has taught me is never to give up on your dreams! Growing up in dire poverty in Mumbai and being a teenage orphan never diminished my father's aspiration for becoming a doctor. Being the first person in his family ever to go to college and eventually on to medical school was one of his proudest achievements. It was a dream that many people in his childhood said were unrealistic. Knowing my dad's tenacity and deeply held desire to follow through with his dreams of being a doctor, though, he certainly proved them all wrong. 

FOLLOW YOUR BLISS - I think the most valuable lesson traveling with my dad over the many years has taught me is that life is about following your bliss. No matter how many challenges or obstacles life seems to throw your way, always remember that pursuing your dreams with joy and bliss is what really matters in life. I think the following quote by Joseph Campbell wonderfully sums up my dad's, and now my, philosophy on life: “Follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.”

Here's to the next big adventure!

Love you, Dad

Enjoy reading more great pieces in this month's e-newsletter on "NATURE & TRAVEL"

Dr. Jay Kumar

www.drjaykumar.com
Facebook – Dr. Jay Kumar
Twitter – docjaykumar